Advisory Committee

UC MEXUS has been extraordinarily fortunate in Advisory Committee members who have distinguished themselves over the years by actively promoting the Institute's goals and extending their efforts with great generosity.

The committee meets regularly during the year to aid in setting the Institute's academic goals and evaluating its effectiveness in reaching those goals. A representative from each UC campus sits on the committee along with one non-voting representative of the UC Office of the President, and two representatives of Mexican academic institutions.

Guillermo Aguilar, PhD
Professor and Department Chair
Bourns College
Mechanical Engineering
UC Riverside
Tel (951) 827-7717
e-mail: guillermo.aguilar@ucr.edu
gaguilar@engr.ucr.edu
Manuel Calderón de la Barca Sánchez, PhD
Professor
Department of Physics - 397A Physics
UC Davis
One Shields Ave.
Davis, CA 95616-8677
Tel: (530) 554 2209
e-mail: calderon@physics.ucdavis.edu
mcalderon@ucdavis.edu
Melissa Floca, M.B.A
Associate Director
Center for US-Mexican Studies
School for Internat’l Relations & Pacific Studies
University of California, San Diego
Tel: (858) 534-6066
e-mail: mfloca@ucsd.edu
José Felipe Martínez, PhD
Associate Professor
UCLA, Moore Hall 2019B
405 Hilgard Avenue
Los Angeles, California 90095-1521
Tel: (310) 794-1853
e-mail: jfmtz@ucla.edu
Rosemary A. Joyce, PhD
Professor
Anthropology Dept. - Mail Code: 3710
UC Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720
Tel: (510) 642-3392
e-mail: rajoyce@berkeley.edu
Viviana Mahieux, PhD
Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese
Graduate Director
School of Humanities
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697
Tel: (949) 824-8793
e-mail: vmahieux@uci.edu
Carlos Muñoz Piña, PhD
Director General de Ingresos No Tributarios
Secretaría de Hacienda
Palacio Nacional s/n, Col. Centro
Del. Cuauhtémoc, México, DF 6000
Tel: 011 (52-55) 5148-7712
Móvil: +(52-1-55) 5217-4831
e-mail: carlosmunozpina@gmail.com
e-mail-2: carlos_munoz@hacienda.gob.mx
Rudy Ortiz, PhD
Professor & Chair (Molecular Cell Biology)
School of Natural Sciences
5200 N. Lake Rd.
University of California, Merced
Merced, CA 95344
Tel: (209) 228-2964
e-mail: rortiz@ucmerced.edu
Margaret Handley, PhD, MPH
Professor. UCSF School of Medicine
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
550 16th. Street
San Francisco CA 94158 San Francisco, CA
94143 - 0608
Tel: 415-206-7366
e-mail: Margaret.Handley@ucsf.edu
Enrico Ramirez Ruiz, PhD
Professor
Astronomy & Astrophysics Dept.
1156 High Street, Mail Stop: UCO / Lick
UC Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
Tel: (831) 459-3400
e-mail: raruiz@ucsc.edu
raruiz@ucsc.edu
Gretchen Hofmann, PhD
Professor and Chair
Department of EEMB
UCSB, 2411 Marine Science Building, Hofmann Lab
Santa Bárbara, CA 93106-9410
Tel: (805) 893-6175
e-mail: hofmann@lifesci.ucsb.edu
Gabriela Vargas Cetina, PhD
Professor
Facultad de Ciencias Antropológicas
Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán
Carretera a Tizimín Km 1
Mérida, Yucatán 97305, México
Tel: 011 (52) 999-930-0090; 52-999-987-7910
e-mail: gvargascetina@mac.com
gvcetina@uady.mx
Ángel E García, PhD
Director of CNLS
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Office: TA-3, Bldg. 1690, Room 101B
Mail Stop: B258
Tel: (505) 665-3883
e-mail: agarcia@lanl.gov
Michael McNeil, PhD
Scientist/Engineer
International Energy Analysis Department
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
90R2121
1 Cyclotron Road, Berkeley, CA 94720 USA
Office Location: 090-2130
Tel: (510) 486-6885
e-mail: MAMcNeil@lbl.gov
Doug Rotman, PhD
Program Director
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
7000 East Avenue, Livermore, CA 94550
P.O. Box 808, Livermore, CA 94551-0808
Tel: (925)-422-7746
e-mail: rotman1@llnl.gov
Updated on 03/07/2018